The Hierarchy of TV Watching

Some people like to eat certain foods in very specific ways. Some fold their slices of pizza in true New York fashion while others prefer to use a fork and knife. Some dunk their Oreo cookies whole and others twist them apart. Some drink their milkshake right away while others wait till it melts, resembling thick, flavored milk and find absolute childlike glee in swishing it between their teeth. Some people like to eat a certain way and I like to watch television a certain way. Some watch TV either when they air or on their own time with no game plan whatsoever. I have come up with a system that I will live and die by…at least, until technology forces change like it always does.

Screen shot 2014-10-18 at 2.57.56 PM

 

There is a hierarchy of TV watching, at least in my mind. There are the shows I watch live because they demand to be seen and discussed in real-time (American Horror Story and nothing else at this point); shows I DVR, that don’t demand to be viewed immediately, but that I care enough about to have it on hand for when I can watch it; shows I watch On Demand or streaming because my DVR only records two shows at a time and these are just slightly less of a priority; shows that I want to see, but I’d rather spend a week binge-watching in the summer or during hiatus.

Is it quirky? Is it crazy? Either way, it’s the way I work. TV watching is serious business!

 

3 thoughts on “The Hierarchy of TV Watching

  1. samanthasupnet October 27, 2014 / 8:59 am

    well, now I know how Jess likes to drink her milkshakes. very nice visual lol

  2. samanthasupnet October 27, 2014 / 9:01 am

    and my pyramid consists of Netflix, followed by YouTube, followed by Hulu, followed by illegal uploads via sites like PutLocker because i don’t have cable. interesting to note our differing habits

    • Jessyca November 24, 2014 / 1:36 pm

      I didn’t say I like my milkshakes that way! Jello on the other hand… 😛

      God bless the people responsible for illegal uploads!

Leave a Reply

