It’s Alive! It’s Alive! It’s Alive! Yes, I Am Talking About Twin Peaks

 

If that score doesn’t make you feel, does anything?

In the series finale that aired in 1991, Laura Palmer (who happens to be deceased) looks straight into Agent Cooper’s eyes and says, “I’ll see you again in 25 years.”

Fast forward 25 years, Twin Peaks, co-created by David Lynch and Mark Frost, is returning in 2016 with a nine episode order. The murder mystery that aired 30 episodes (currently streaming on Netflix) on ABC in 1990-1991 was never a ratings success, but cultivated a cult following that’s only grown since its cancellation. Mention Twin Peaks or David Lynch in a room full of film students and with the excitement and admiration, the naysaying and debate that’s sure to follow, it’s a good time.

The show follows quirky, damn good coffee-loving FBI Agent Dale Cooper (Kyle MacLachlan) who arrives in Twin Peaks to investigate the murder of Laura Palmer (Sheryl Lee ), a popular, seemingly perfect teenage girl. As the mystery surrounding Laura’s death begins to unravel so do the secrets of the odd people who inhabit the small town in the Pacific Northwest.

I first watched Twin Peaks and the bulk of Lynch’s surrealistic films in college and I must say I am a fan. The Lynchian cinematic style is an acquired taste, for sure, and though I see why some people wouldn’t be fans, I often find myself amused, captivated, and obsessed. The Lynchian style speaks to a particular brand of irony found in the balance of macabre and mundane, where the bizarre is perpetually contained within the ordinary. Even if you don’t understand what is going on or why, it’s guaranteed to be like nothing you’ve ever seen before. The work of David Lynch is somewhat disturbing, but also original, embeds itself in your memory and demands to be talked about.

Honestly, I was upset when I first saw tweets about this. I thought Showtime set a remake in motion and the idea of it alone is perplexing. Why would you try to remake a classic cemented in pop culture history, one that countless others have tried and failed to emulate? I dug into the different reports and realized it was a continuation, which is unheard of today. Once a show gets cancelled and isn’t immediately picked up by another network, all that’s left to do is say bye-bye, pray it’ll make it to DVD and maybe revisit it on rainy, nostalgic days. It is absurd for a show to come back after 25 years and I am so excited, especially since Sir David Lynch is heading the project.

When Twin Peaks aired in the early ’90s, it was like nothing else on at the time. Now, television has evolved and changed in industry practices, available technology and content. More and more studios are producing shows that continue to raise the bar with creativity, innovation and high-stakes risks. Twin Peaks was pure fire in its originality and bold, unapologetic choices, but it’s been decades. I have so many questions. Can Lynch and Co. resurrect that fire and will it hold up in this new space? What will it be about? Will we finally get answers to questions that have lingered for years? Which members of the original cast will return? What will be the aspect ratio?

As far as I’m concerned, it being greenlighted is a success in itself. Whether this revival turns out to be a success or flop, with Lynch onboard, it’s sure to be in some ways genius, fairly traumatic and definitely something I’m going to talk about with everyone who will listen.

Fun Fact #1 This has been my Twitter header for as long as I can remember:

Screen shot 2014-08-08 at 2.30.39 PM (2)

Fun Fact #2 The girl’s bathroom in the high school is one of my favorite sets from the show (other than the Red Room, of course):

Screen shot 2014-08-09 at 1.19.30 PM (2)  Screen shot 2014-08-09 at 1.18.48 PM (2)

In David Lynch We Trust

 

4 thoughts on “It’s Alive! It’s Alive! It’s Alive! Yes, I Am Talking About Twin Peaks

  1. Earle Grey October 7, 2014 / 10:04 am

    The sequels are not what they seem.

    • Jessyca October 7, 2014 / 12:03 pm

      Sequels in general? I completely agree. Sequels are almost always a disappointment in my book. The only exceptions being Captain America: the Winter Soldier (best Marvel movie thus far) and Grease 2, which is vastly underrated. With Twin Peaks, I have faith in Lynch. Frost not so much. I guess we’ll see…

  2. Earle Grey October 7, 2014 / 1:05 pm

    Just trying to craft a clever turn of phrase with layered Twin Peaks references. I have faith with Lynch & Frost handling the material it will stand on its own merit and yet have an unexpected quality, no matter what is anticipated.

    • Jessyca October 7, 2014 / 2:00 pm

      Oh! Well, that makes sense! I think Lynch is a genius though I haven’t quite forgiven Frost for Fantastic Four. I don’t want to think I’m setting myself up for disappointment by having expectations, but how can you not? I’d love to hear your thoughts once the new batch of episodes is released and it’s probably about time I rewatched it myself. Thanks for the comments!

Leave a Reply

