Q&A: I’m Back

SB1ySDkC87

I’m back and with maybe the best American Horror Story gif turned meme (via Vulture) ever made because I just can’t help myself. (If you don’t know the reference or AHS then we need to have a chat and you need to put that Netflix account to use!) Like I said, I’m back and talking about my favorite things…literally, I am talking about my favorite things.

1. Favorite scent

Coffee. Definitely coffee. I also really like the scent of birthday candles just as you blow them out and fire in general. There’s something so comforting about the smell of old books, specifically musty library books that have lived for decades and brand new notebook. The smell of those Avon soaps and lotions bring back such fond memories of my great grandma who played such a huge role in raising me and contributing to my love of coffee at a young age. Some may say at too young an age.

2. Favorite food

20140914-150859-54539170.jpg
Tacos! But only authentic dollar tacos from hole-in-the-wall dives that barely satisfy health code regulations. Whenever I travel I collect dollar taco places in different area codes…area codes. I like bread, French bread in particular, two slices with like meat and vegetables in between. Some would call them sandwiches. I like plain soft pretzels, also technically bread, and even crunchy pretzels dipped in chocolate. I also pick up a container of those sugar-free chocolate covered almonds when I’m at Trader Joe’s. And Filipino food because I don’t think I’ll ever grow out of the kinds of comfort food I ate growing up.

3. Favorite sound

20140914-151612-54972206.jpg
My dogs have these droopy ears so when they shake their heads their ears make a floppy sound and the tags on their collars jingle and it just makes me smile and feel like I’m home. I also really love the sound of rain from a light drizzle to a downpour as long as I’m not stuck in it or trying to sleep. The sound of actors breathing in really intense, silent scenes. Jessica Lange and Michael C. Hall nail it every time.

4. Favorite picture currently on your phone

20140914-150900-54540756.jpg

5. Best memory of the year so far

For the entire summer, when not at work, I would tutor my four-year-old little brother, helping him memorize the alphabet and colors and practice writing his letters and numbers to prepare for a placement test. After months of arguing and getting frustrated with each other, but eventually getting it done, he went back to Washington, where he lives, and the other day I got a call from him.

“How was school?” I asked.

“Good,” he replied. “I remembered all my letters and everything!”

That was such a great moment for me, especially after studying child psychology in college. Up until that moment I didn’t realize that I was helping in his development as a human being that’ll one day be a contributing member of society. That’s so cool. When he grows up and does great things — because he totally will, at age four the kid is already brilliant — I’ll know I had some small part in that. Hell no am I going to become a teacher any time soon, especially at that age level, but I am so proud of him and it was a nice feeling.

Questions courtesy of:

Social Sunday

One thought on “Q&A: I’m Back

  1. Lulu September 16, 2014 / 6:20 am

    Love tacos !! And what an unique sound 🙂

Leave a Reply

