Q&A: A Few of My Favorite Things

favorite

Unfortunately or maybe fortunately, this isn’t a Q & A on how I feel about The Sound of Music or the human phenomena that is Julie Andrews. This week’s batch of questions is all about my favorite things! Just the word favorite puts that song in my head for days. I’d clear my throat and arrange them into an uplifting song for you, a song that chases away your fears on stormy nights, but I am no Julie Andrews in any Julie Andrews movie so I think I’ll save you the trauma. Instead, I think I’ll nerd out about my favorite scary movie, TV, music and books. Oh, and silver white winters that melt into springs, of course.

What’s your favorite scary movie?

Screen shot 2014-06-21 at 11.07.29 AM

I don’t have many favorite “scary” movies. I watch them because they’re more entertaining than anything and I generally don’t find movies scary in the same way I rarely feel the need to cry during “sad” movies. There are a few movies that hit me hours after seeing it, when I’m in bed, unable to sleep, in the dark, just waiting for my light to unexpectedly flicker on or my door to slam with seemingly no explanation. Even then I think that’s more paranoia than fear and more often than not those movies aren’t favorite quality.
On the other hand, I definitely have favorite horror films.
The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1920) is a German silent film about mad men, murder and a somnambulist named Cesare, who’s supposedly been asleep for twenty-five years. The stylized set is beyond words, black and white, filled with hard light and deep shadows, sharp angled and canted walls. The overall look and feel of the film is bizarre and beautiful and articulates the twisted, deceptive psychological wonderland the story takes place in. Caligari is arguably the first horror film and a shining example of German Expressionism, a style in which the characters and world are wild, absurd and disjointed. Although the visual quality isn’t up to par with the expectations of a modern world accustom to a high-definition viewing experience, the simplicity adds to the eerie quality of the film and undoubtedly unsettled the unsuspecting 1920’s audience.
top-10-scariest-movies-the-cabinet-of-dr-caligari

Honorable Mentions:

(AKA horror movies that are terrible and I would never seek out, but always end up watching if I’m flipping through channels on a lazy day AKA movies I don’t even have a rational explanation for watching)

1481830919_1391532488

hhe2_home_top2

What is your favorite weird TV show you think no one else watches?

My favorite TV shows are the weird ones, yes, but they’re also ones I make sure other people watch because talking about TV is my favorite pastime. I’m obsessed with Orange is the New Black and every American Horror Story made and Twin Peaks. All can probably be considered weird depending on who you talk to, but they’re also awesome and I can guarantee millions have watched them.

Weird that no one has probably ever heard of. Hmm…

Call the Midwife!

Call the Midwife

Call the Midwife is a BBC One show that depicts the lives of a group of midwives who work in 1950’s London. I know one other person besides me who watches and loves it. It’s less weird than some of the other shows I mentioned (especially Twin Peaks), but it does have its bizarre instances along with humorous moments and ones that break your heart. The newest season is definitely on my summer binge list.

What is your favorite book to re-read?

20140621-122639-44799470.jpg

There are moments when you can’t believe something wonderful is happening. And there are moments when your entire consciousness is filled with knowing absolutely that something wonderful is happening. Lincoln felt like he’d dunked his head into a sink full of Pop Rocks and turned on the water.

Questions Courtesy of:

Social Sunday

Leave a Reply

