Q&A: Summer, Summer, Summer

High-School-Musical-2-zac-efron-22737062-1210-908

When I think about summer the first thing that comes to mind is that opening scene in High School Musical 2 and Zac Efron wearing that blue on blue striped shirt that makes his eyes pop, staring at the clock as everyone around him chants “summer” until the dismissal bell rings. Second, I think about unrelenting heat and absolute freedom as a kid and a student. Break out the sunglasses and passports, I’m talking about summer.

What is your best summer memory as a kid?

I don’t know if emotions were just heightened because it was summer and I was young and free, but in my experience everything worth remember happened over the summer. It was when we always took trips, usually to see family in California, spending all day at Disneyland, or take road trips with Britney Spears and *NSYNC CDs playing through the car sound system. I have memories of walking down the boardwalk, eating funnel cake, and riding roller coasters, smiling and laughing and spending time with those I looked up to and those I loved (Mickey Mouse…among others). I remember never wanting the summer to end and all those memories have culminated into a feeling of nostalgia I’ll hold on to for the rest of my life.

What is your favorite summer drink?

FromJayllasCamera 302

Orangina (But only while in Europe. It isn’t the same anywhere else.)

HI0208H_lava-smash_s4x3

Lava flows! It’s made of fresh strawberries and bananas (two of my top two favorite fruit), pineapple juice, coconut cream and a touch of light rum if you’re legal. I have adolescent memories of drinking these by the pool when my grandparents would visit and we’d stay at the Hilton in Waikiki. We’d drink virgin lava flows at the time, of course.

What is your favorite summer TV show?

tumblr_n1ytai14cY1qd9a66o1_500

Last summer I started watching Under the Dome on CBS, produced by and based off a novel by Stephen King. The show follows the inhabitants of a small fictional town who, as you could probably guess, find themselves trapped beneath a mysterious, dome-shaped force field and cut off from the rest of the world.  Most shows can easily become predictable in one way or another, but having never read the novel I can never guess what’s going to happen next. It isn’t a television revelation, but I would recommend it if you want something to watch during the summer while all the fall shows go on hiatus.

What is the best outdoor summer activity?

20140518-071758.jpg

Tanning at the beach or by the pool, just absorbing the sun and getting some color. It’s all about knowing your limit and how much your skin can take. I also love reading and writing outdoors, just escaping the confines of the house.

What are your summer vacation essentials?

Sunglasses. Tanning oil. Aloe vera gel. A pocket-size Moleskine notebook. DVR. A few good books.

Now I’m off to a wedding! Have a great week, everyone!

Questions Courtesy of:

2 thoughts on “Q&A: Summer, Summer, Summer

  1. kellee May 18, 2014 / 10:01 am

    I put lava flows too!!! Great minds!!!!

  2. smfarris May 18, 2014 / 2:27 pm

    Oh Zac Efron! I just saw Neighbors this weekend and he was hot, funny, and they even threw in a dance off!

Leave a Reply

