Q&A: Pet Peeves & Irrational Fear


oscar

This week’s batch of questions is all about the things that disrupt my calm, sometimes indifferent attitude toward everyday life and makes me seethe with rage or has me mentally and physically stunned and emotionally out of whack. So many fun times to be had, don’t you think?

What is your biggest driving pet peeve?

Anything that results in me being car sick. I love extended road trips and I’m usually fine, but there have been times where I do start to feel nauseous and it ruins the experience for me. Even on relatively short drives with certain reckless drivers. For some reason I can ride roller coasters that flip high in the air multiple times in a row yet riding in cars gives me motion sickness.

What is your biggest blogging pet peeve?

It drives me a little insane and makes me a little sad when the background and the color of the font battle for attention and make the post hard to read. Also, I despise pop-up advertisements that are sneaky with where they hide the “x” and make trying to close the darn thing feel like an episode of Dora the Explorer.

What is your biggest shopping pet peeve?

The worst part of the shopping experience is when salespeople have nothing better to do than watch my every move. I’m not saying every retail worker does this, most are really hospitable and sweet. I appreciate when they ask if I need help and I also appreciate when I say no thank you and they leave me be. Being stared down like they’re waiting for me to start shoving things into my pockets is not something I particularly enjoy.

What is your biggest general pet peeve?

People who obnoxiously talk in movie theaters. Whispering to the person in the seat next to you, that I can deal with, but please no running commentary throughout the movie or shouting at the screen, thanks. Another of my biggest pet peeves is when someone just gets out of the shower and I go into the bathroom after them and the floor is wet. It makes me want to scream.

What is your most irrational fear?

I am terrified of geckos and I’m entirely aware of how irrational this is. Geckos are tiny, probably just as afraid of me and probably not wishing mortal harm on me like my brain automatically assumes. Despite knowing all of this, when I unexpectedly come across a gecko (especially in the house) I go into a state of paralysis. Itty bitty geckos trigger my flight or fight response and more often than not I choose to scream my head off and run in the opposite direction.

Alright, that’s all for today. Now I’m heading out to the beach, praying to avoid some of my beach pet peeves. Have a great week!

Questions Courtesy of:

One thought on “Q&A: Pet Peeves & Irrational Fear

Leave a Reply

