Good God Almighty, Another Birthday

I started this blog the day after my 20th birthday…and then proceeded to neglect this blog like the master procrastinator I was at the time and still am to some extent. I’m not sure what I had in mind when I started this blog and I’m sure it has veered away from my original vision in the last three years. But that’s also what I love about it? I love how it has grown and changed just as I have. It’s true to life in that way. My birthday fell on a Thursday this year so the day of was pretty uneventful, but the weekend that followed was one of the best of my life.

It all started with a little walk down memory lane.  I dug through the archives (a cardboard box at the bottom of a bookshelf) and found my Baby Book and old photo albums. When I was living in Portland I always spent my birthdays out with friends or suffering through night classes and then celebrating with friends. Since I’m home this year I took full advantage, looked through all my old photos, familiarizing myself with distant memories and ones I was too young to retain.

babybook

babyme

babymefacts

The day of my birthday ended with a prime rib dinner with loved ones and a little indulging…

ice cream cookie

 

Friday

was spent eating and shopping.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Anyone who says sushi and French fries don’t mix is doing it wrong.

 

20140424-111648.jpg

I found this unopened Veronica Mars first season DVD set for $9.99. I ordered the first and second season online almost a year ago and received the second season, but not the first. The company claimed they shipped it and the whole ordeal resulted in me with no first season DVDs. It had to have been fate that I came across it in a secondhand store, where I bought it for less than what I was originally willing to pay. Score.

Saturday

Best. Day. Ever.

Lounged at the beach during the day.

IMG_4881

 

Gambino concert at night. (More on this in a later post…)

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Sunday

On Easter, with sore legs, bruised arms and ringing ears, I spent the day with the family. We ate like it was Thanksgiving (turkey, ham, the whole shebang) because my mom is a bit of an overachiever in that department. We watched Frozen and painted eggs. I admit I can be a bit of an overachiever-perfectionist hybrid in the themed arts and crafts department.

20140424-114357.jpg(Captain America in his Winter Soldier suit…just so you know.)

We listened to Gambino in a church parking lot, watched the rain and went for froyo — stalling as the Easter Bunny set up an egg hunt for my little cousins in our living room. Then, as the kids counted the money they collected, we sat around and ended the day by watching the Blazers shut down the Rockets in an overtime win. (PDX represent! …At least since my Lakers didn’t make the playoffs. Not surprised, but still sobbing about this season.)

20140424-122843.jpg(Me with my parents all the way back in the 90’s)

The concept of birthdays has always been weird to me, especially how much effort people put in to celebrating birthdays, all the money spent on decorations and food for twenty-four hours and how life goes back to normal the next day. At the same time, a birthday is something everyone has in common and it gives everyone something to celebrate. In a world full of setbacks and disappointment, everyone has that one day to forget everything and celebrate themselves. More importantly, it’s an opportunity to celebrate survival and the fact that we make it through daily struggles week after week, month after month, from one birthday to the next. If that isn’t something to celebrate then what is?

Birthdays make me feel hopeful, which is funny when you take into account my pessimistic nature. Birthdays excite me, seeing how much I’ve changed since my last one and anticipating how much I’ll change by the time the next one comes around. It’s a day of indulgence and reflection. It’s terrifying how fast time passes, but also something to be proud of. Not everyone makes it, but I did so, okay, I’ll pat myself on the back and have a cookie cake with ice cream.

Maybe I’m crazy. Maybe I just look at life from a different angle. Either way, I spent the anniversary of my birth and the weekend that followed doing the things I love surrounded by people I love. All in all, it was a great birthday.

Leave a Reply

