Q&A: Sunday Social the First

SS Sunday Social reminds me of being in high school and spending hours answering questions and posting it on the MySpace Bulletin, mostly to avoid doing homework. It made me nostalgic and I thought joining in would be a fun little thing to do every Sunday as I decompress at the end of the weekend.    

What is your ideal way to relax? First, I need to clear my head completely, which is harder than it sounds. I like to immerse myself in fiction whether it be through books, movies, television, or live music. I  like to get lost in a moment and not have to worry about anything that happened before that moment or anything that happens beyond that moment.
Where is your favorite place to be?
On vacation. Exploring new cities or getting reacquainted with old ones. Mostly, I like staying in hotels and timeshares. It strangely feels like coming home every time.
2000h
Who do you consider your biggest role model?
My grandma, the matriarch of the family, who grew up in a small, remote village in the Philippines. When there was a shortage of nurses during World War II, the United States brought her over to Philadelphia, where everything was so strange and foreign to her.
Despite being alone in a new, different, downright terrify world, my grandma made the most of it. She found steady work and started a family. She continues to work in order to support that family, even now when she’s well past the age of retirement. She’s the glue that keeps the family together. Although my struggles barely compare to hers, I’m always inspired by her strength and all her success in life.
If you could go back and change one decision, what would it be?
I wouldn’t have let fear of judgement and failure stop me from trying and caring.
What is your biggest accomplishment in life thus far?
I got off the island. In my family and my culture they push us to pursue careers in medicine and I always knew that particular path wasn’t for me. Despite the pressure to take the expected route, I left home, moved to a city where I didn’t know anyone, earned two Bachelor’s Degrees in four years and graduated cum laude. Some people try to make me feel like I just wasted my time and money, but it was a fun part of my life that I’m proud to have experienced. I was happy and that’s what matters most.
Questions Courtesy of:
  Sunday Social
Leave a Reply

